Florida Regulations 69L-3.019

From Wcc
Revision as of 10:46, 14 December 2009 by 10.10.11.190 (Talk)

(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

Florida > Regulations

§ 69L-3.019 Wage Loss Benefits for Temporary Partial Disability (Dates of Accident August 1, 1979 through December 31, 1993)

History:



(1) Employee's Responsibilities. During any 2 week period in which wage loss for temporary partial disability is suffered, the employee shall file a Form DFS-F2- DWC-3, as adopted in Rule 69L- 3.025, F.A.C., with the claims-handling entity within 14 days. The employee shall complete the "Employee" portion of the Form DFS-F2-DWC-3 and the employee shall also fill out the back of the Form DFS-F2-DWC-3 thereby furnishing the claims-handling entity a "work search report" for the period for which temporary partial wage loss benefits are claimed, including the name, address, telephone number, and person contacted at each business where the claimant applied for work during the period for which temporary partial wage loss benefits are being claimed, the date the claimant applied for work at each business and a description of the type of work or the specific job for which the claimant applied at each. The listing should also include any contacts with a public or private employment agency and the dates of such contacts. The employee shall sign and date the form with the signature authorizing the release of Social Security information and Unemployment Compensation wage and benefit information. The employee shall file the completed Form DFS-F2-DWC-3 with the claims-handling entity. A Form DFSF2- DWC-3 without an original signature of the injured employee shall not be processed for payment by the claims-handling entity.

(2) Claims-handling entity's Responsibilities.

(a) Within 5 working days of its first knowledge of the date of temporary partial disability, the claims-handling entity shall mail to the employee an informational letter, which explains the employee's eligibility for temporary partial wage loss benefits, together with at least four (4) copies of the Form DFS-F2-DWC-3. The letter to the employee must at least contain the following: "Your treating physician has reported that you may return to limited duty work with some temporary physical restrictions. Your temporary total disability benefits have been suspended but you may be entitled to additional benefit payments under the Florida Workers' Compensation Law. If you lose wages, you must complete and send a REQUEST FOR WAGE LOSS/TEMPORARY PARTIAL BENEFITS Form (DFS-F2- DWC-3) to us within 14 days after the end of any two-week period for which a loss of wages is claimed. If you fail to send the completed form within that 14-day period, you may be ineligible for temporary partial wage loss benefits during that period. In addition, to be eligible for temporary partial wage loss benefits, you must demonstrate that you have made a valid effort to obtain suitable gainful employment and that your loss of wages is due to your work-related physical restriction and NOT due to economic conditions, the unavailability of jobs, your unemployment due to misconduct or your failure to accept employment within your capabilities. To show that you have made a genuine effort to obtain employment, list the dates, names, addresses, type of work, person contacted and the telephone number of the places of employment that you have contacted on the reverse side of the REQUEST FOR WAGE LOSS/TEMPORARY PARTIAL BENEFITS form. You should also list the dates you make contact with any public or private employment agency. Please note that the Florida Workers' Compensation Law allows us to evaluate your efforts to obtain gainful employment beginning with the 13th week after you have received the first payment of a temporary partial wage loss benefit. If it can be shown that there are actual job openings within your geographical area and which are within your physical and vocational capabilities, the amount of earnings you could have earned at those jobs can be deducted from your benefit payment. Enclosed are REQUEST FOR WAGE LOSS/TEMPORARY PARTIAL BENEFITS forms for your use. Keep them with your other valuable documents until you either use them or your entitlement to these benefits expires. We are also reporting your status to the Division of Workers' Compensation in Tallahassee. If you desire further information regarding Wage Loss benefits, you may call the Employee Assistance and Ombudsman Office (EAO) of the Division of Workers' Compensation at any of their local offices, or at 1 (800) 342-1741." (b) The claims-handling entity shall date stamp the Form DFS-F2-DWC-3 upon receipt and within 14 days of receipt of the Form DFS-F2-DWC-3 from the employee, the claims-handling entity shall complete calculation of benefits due, make any payments due, and send copies of the completed form to the employee and the employer. The claims-handling entity shall also send the employee a blank Form DFS-F2-DWC-3. If the claimshandling entity is denying wage loss benefits for temporary partial disability, the claims-handling entity shall indicate in the claims-handling entity section of the Form DFS-F2-DWC-3 that wage loss benefits are being denied, complete a Form DFS-F2-DWC-12, as adopted in Rule 69L- 3.025, F.A.C., and send both forms to the employee, employer, legal counsel, and the Division within 14 days of the claims-handling entity's receipt of Form DFS-F2-DWC-3.

(3) Calculation of Temporary Partial Wage Loss Benefits. The first calendar week of eligibility for temporary partial wage loss benefits may be a partial week since eligibility begins on the date of claimant's release to return to light duty work. All other weeks of eligibility shall be full calendar weeks. To determine the amount of benefits due for a partial week, divide the pre-injury average weekly wage by the number of days employed per week, multiply by the number of days from date of release to return to light duty work through the last working day of that calendar week, multiply by 85% if the date of accident is before July 1, 1990 or by 80% if the date of accident is July 1, 1990 or later, insert the resulting figure on Form DFS-F2-DWC-3 in the box labeled "ADJ.WW", and complete the calculations shown on that form.

Specific Authority 440.15(4)(e), 440.185(4), (10), 440.41, 440.591 FS. Law Implemented 440.15(4)(b), 440.185(4), (10), 440.20 FS. History-New 10-30-79, Amended 11-5-81, Formerly 38F-3.19, Amended 4-11-90, 1-30-91, 11-8-94, 11-11-96, Formerly 38F-3.019, 4L-3.019, Amended 1-10-05.